Beware of Fake Flash Player Downloads
By Ausaf Ahmad • Aug 6th, 2008 • Category: Misc • 6 CommentsIt is been confirmed that malicious hackers are now using the Fake Flash Players Downloads as Social Networking Decoy for malware . On the website of Abode , they have informed their users to validate installers before Downloading such type of softwares updates …….. Here is the whole warning thing which is issued on Abode.com
”
We have seen coverage from the security community of a worm on popular social networking sites that is using social engineering lures to get users to install a piece of malware. According to the reports, the worm posts comments on these sites that include links to a fake site. If the link is followed, users are told they need to update their Flash Player. The installer, posted on a malicious site, of course installs malware instead of Flash Player.
We’d like to take this opportunity to reiterate the importance of validating installers and updates before installing them. First off, do not download Flash Player from a site other than adobe.com – you can find the link for downloading Flash Player here. This goes for any piece of software (Reader, Windows Media Player, Quicktime, etc.) – if you get a notice to update, it’s not a bad idea to go directly to the site of the software vendor and download the update directly from the source. If the download is from an unfamiliar URL or an IP address, you should be suspicious.
Second, all Adobe software for Windows is signed with a digital certificate that is validated by Windows when you install our software. The Publisher will always be ‘Adobe Systems, Incorporated’, and you can verify this when you double-click the installer, or by right-clicking on the installer, selecting ‘Properties’, and going to the ‘Digital Signatures’ tab.
For Flash Player in particular, you can always go to this page to verify what version of Flash Player you have installed, and what the current version of Flash Player is for your Operating System. The current Flash Player version is 9.0.124.0.
“
Trackback URL
|
|
|
Click For More Articles By Ausaf Ahmad
About Myself ... Well My name is Ausaf Ahmad which all you can see I have been working in the field of IT for almost 10 years now and have been through from many ups and downs during my career . Being an Electronics Engineer my passion turned me towards Computers and Alhamdulillah I am very much successful in it . During passing through of mid career transition I have done Masters in Computer Sciences and Masters in Business Administration(Management) . Working for one of the leading Automotive Manufacturing Company of Pakistan as Deputy Manager- MIS . I Have worked intensely on the current market "in products" of the IT industry from Linux to Windows - ERP Implementation Project to Desktop / Service Desk Support Implementation . All have done through shear hard work and the blessing of ALLAH and my Family .. Been Certified on IT Governance, ITIL and CoBIT so currently working on the project related to it .
All posts by Ausaf Ahmad
You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed.


Dear READERS, Please read first hand report. Original Post is below one. Writer should at least appreciate the one, who wrote this post. or give reference of the post.
http://blogs.zdnet.com/security/?p=1648
This is wrong practice indeed.
do you have any thing to say ,mr ausaf.?now do you want yourself to quit the platform or you want us to drag you down.you are habitual .
Like a drug user, liars become habitual in their habits. Better term is pathological liar. Please get help Mr. Ausaf, for you are making a mockery of Pakistanis.
I have no apology for my strong words here. It is up to TPS admin to put a stop this practice of plagiarism.
Shame!
Couple of days ago, we told the said author about our concerns regarding this practice, and now he is in the court of people, and he must answer the comments.
best regards
TPS
Well Let me clarify my point of view . This thing might be posted on ZDNET Site …. I put it on the this site for all users information on my own ..
Thats all i want to say now ……..
If you all want to see the original post here is the link for it
http://blogs.adobe.com/psirt/2008/08/verifying_installers.html
Kind Regards.